Reviews 2018-02-02T07:44:40+00:00

REVIEWS

BLOG FEED

New In: Friday 1st June 2018

As we enter festival season a load of cracking new albums are out for your delectation…

HIGHLIGHTS
Father John Misty “God’s Favorite Customer”
Oneohtrix Point Never “Age Of”
Paul Simon “Graceland The Remixes”
Tower of Power “Soul Side of Town”
Moonchild “Voyager”


ALSO NEW IN
Morcheeba “Blaze Away”
Natalie Prass “The Future and The Past”
Lump “Lump”
Jamie Isaac “Idler”
Mazzy Star “Still”
Norma Waterson & ELiza Carthy “Anchor”
De La Soul “And the Anonymous Nobody”
Courtney Barnett “Sometimes I Sit and Think And Sometimes I Just Sit”
Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile “Lotta Sea Lice Marathon”
Justin Timberlake “FutureSex/LoveSounds”
The Flaming Lips “Greatest Hits Vol. 1”
The Notorious B.I.G. “Greatest Hits”
Madonna “The Immaculate Collection”
Emmylou Harris “The Ballad of Sally Rose”
The Neighbourhood “The Neighbourhood”
Neko Case “Hell-On”


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 25th May 2018

Finally… The follow up to Yussef Kamaal’s blinding debut “Black Focus” is here….in the shape of newly formed trio Kamaal Williams, whose album “the Return” is out this week on limited edition white vinyl. If jazz and/or breakbeat is your thing, get to know!


HIGHLIGHTS

Kamaal Williams “The Return”
Halo Maud “Je suis une île”
Wooden Shjips “V”
Björk “Arisen my senses”


ALSO IN THIS WEEK
Wand “Perfume”
GOAT “Let It Burn” 7”
Sleep “The Sciences”
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds “She Taught Me How to Fly”
Snow Patrol “Wildness”
Prince “Nothing Compares 2 U” 7”
Liam Gallagher “I’ve All I Need” 7”
Chvrches “Love Is Dead”
MTV Unplugged Biffy Clyro “Live at the Roundhouse London”
Stone Temple Pilots “Pilots”
Beautiful South “0898”, “Painting It Red”
Corduroy in “Return of the Fabric Tour”
ACR “Up in Downsville”
Bark Psychosis “///Codename: dustsucker”
Tracy Anne & Danny


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 18th May 2018

Long live this fine weather! We’ll be heading over to CW9 on Saturday for the Vinyl Adventures Record Fair in Northwich featuring Tim Burgess of the Charlatans! Hope to see you there, come and say hello.


NEW IN

Bruce Springsteen “The Album Collection Vol. 2 1987-1996”
James “Better than That EP” 10”
Otis Redding “Dock of the Bay Sessions”
Blanket “How to Let Go”
Ray LaMontagne “Part of the Light”
Lake Street Dive “Free Yourself Up”
Pink Floyd “Relics Remastered”
Tom Waits “The Heart of Saturday Night”
The Lovely Eggs “Big Sea” 7”
The Breeders “Mountain Battles”, “Title TK”, “Last Splash”, “Pod”
Amyl and the Sniffers “Big Attraction and Giddy Up”
Ryley Walker “Deafman Glance”
Parquet Courts “Wide Awaaaaake!”
Jonny Greenwood “Music from the film Body Song”
Ash “Islands”
The Magic Numbers “Outsiders”
Dream Wife “Dream Wife”
Floating Features “La Luz”
Beach House “7”
Hookworms “Hookworms”
Tom Waits “Nighthawks at the Diner”
Pul de Jong “You Fucken Sucker”
Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks “Sparkle Hard”
Poliça “Give You the Ghost”
Archie and the Bunkers “Songs from the Lodge”


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 27th April 2018

Wow! Another cracking Record Store Day. Thanks to all who came down, we hope you got what you wanted. Thanks to Party Hardly, Ash Gray and James Ewan for your live sets and the Tramshed for hosting!


HIGHLIGHTS
RAS G & the Afrikan Space Program “Stargate Music”
Bicep “Opal (Four Tet Remix)/ Helix)

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizzard “I’m In Your Mind Fuzz”, “Quarters!”, “Murder of the Universe”, “Flying Micrtonal Banana”, “Sketches of Brunswick East (with Mild High Club)”
Cicada Rhythm “Everywhere I Go”
Jessie Baylin “Strawberry Wind”


NEW IN
Goat Girl “Goat Girl”
Arctic Monkeys “WPSIAMTWIN”, “AM”
Cocteau Twins “Treasure”
Josh T. Pearson “The Straight Hits!”
King Creosote “Astronaut Meets Appleman”
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins “Diamond Mine”
The Orielles “Silver Dollar Moment”
Elastica “Elastica”
Aisha Badru “Pendulum”
John Fogerty “Centrefield”
Blossoms “Blossoms (Deluxe Edition incl. acoustic album vinyl)”
We Are Scientists “Megaplex”
DMA’S “For Now”
Okkervil River “In the Rainbow Rain”
Forth Wanderers


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 20th April 2018

One more sleep! Record Store Day 2018 is nearly upon us…We’ll be open from 9am especially so get down nice and early to reserve your place in the queue and get first dibs on all those exclusive bits! You can see a full list of our RSD18 stock list here

In the meantime…here’s our new in for this week! 


Highlights

Johny Greenwood “Phantom Thread Original Motion Picture Soundtrack”
Alexis Taylor “Beautiful Thing”
David Bowie “Aladdin Sane”
Gomez “Bring It On”
Savoy “See the beauty in your drab hometown”

Also In

Jethro Tull “Heavy Horses”
Poison “Open Up and Say…Ahh!”
June Tabor “An Introduction to June Tabor”
Solan Goose “Erland Cooper”
Steve Ellis “Boom! Boom! Twang!
Julian Cope “Jehovahkill”
The Damned “Evil Spirits”
Bonnie Prince Billy “Wolf of the Cosmos”
Perel “Hermetica”
Mike Donovan “How to Get Your Record Played in Shops”
Pennywise “Never Gonna Die”
CharliXCX “Number 1 Angel”
Sufjan Stevens “Tonya Harding”
Drinks “Hippo Lite”
The Headhunters “Straight From the Gate”
Vertical Horizon “Everything You Want”
Alanis Morissette “Flavors of Entanglement”
Lawless “Original Motion Picture Soundtrack”


Get down and have a dig! 
SD

RSD18 – Releases hitting the Spinning Discs Sheffield racks!

Folks – we’ve had a listen to the sort of releases from the Record Store Day 2018 release list you wanted us to get in.  We’ve collated and debated and come to the conclusion in our RSD18 stock list below!

RSD18 – Stock List

As a reminder – we open at 9am on the 21st.

No reserves, no pre-orders, no bulk buying – only one title per customer, no more than 10 records per customer.

We’re operating a ‘system’ so that the first come is the first served.

The shop will be open as usual so you’ll be able to browse our new, reissue and select secondhand (in the Record Emporium) while you wait for your turn.

Sounds a bit formal we know.

Finally, no hassle – Keep it happy and real.

Thanks

Team Spinning Discs

New In: Friday 6th April 2018

We’ve got to say that the Pop Princess Kylie is back with her new release ‘Golden’ and yet another Pop Diva is running alongside keeping her on her toes in the form of Soul Pop Diva Lisa Stansfield with a collection of new material in ‘Deeper’.  Youngsters Lorde, Hinds and Goat Girl are keeping everyone on the lookout with three fantastic new releases in ‘Melodrama’,  ‘I don’t run’ (and maybe they don’t need to) and ‘Goat Girl’

Plus we’ve got more in from the likes of;

Unknown Mortal Orchestra ‘Sex + Food’

Peter Harris ‘Adverts’

Hop Along ‘Bark Your Head Off, Dog’

Abi Wade ‘Beautifully Astray’

The Wonder Years ‘Sister Cities’

Cosmo Sheldrake ‘The Much Much How How and I’

The Amazing ‘In Transit’

Zeke ‘Hellbender’

and more!

Plus we’ve got a special celebration coming up so keep an eye out for an announcement!

Record Store Day 2018

Folks – the official Record Store Day 2018 release list is here!

Loads of great releases coming out on the 21st April 2018 – We’ll be getting in as many as we can and hopefully what you want!

If you are interested in anything on the list then please drop us a line by email, our Social Media accounts or come in to the shop and let us know.  We can’t hold anything for anyone on the day (as those are the RSD rules) however if we know it’s a desire for you then at least there’ll be a chance it’ll still be up for grabs!

RSD18 – Product List

Thanks

Team Spinning Discs

New In: Friday 2nd March 2018

This week at Spinning Discs Sheffield we’ve got some fantastic vinyl new in at the shop from the original Breeders line up with ‘All Nerve’ to the Superorganism.

Here’s a list of the gems for you to come and have a dig through in our lovely and warm shop (where the coffee is free!)

Breeders – All Nerve (limited orange vinyl)

Superorganism – Superorganism (Deluxe Glow in the Dark Sleeve)

Guenno – Le Kov

Nabihah Iqbal – Weighing of the Heart

Raf Rundell – Stop Lying

Moaning – Moaning (Loser Edition)

Hookworms – Pearl Mystic (Green and White Splatter vinyl)

Jono McCleery – Seeds of a Dandelion

Turbonegro – Rock N Roll Machine

Tracey Thorn – Record

Suuns – Felt (limited edition coloured vinyl)

Avril Lavigne – Avril Lavigne (limited Silver and Black vinyl – limited to 3,000 copies)

Guru – Jazzmatazz Volume 1 (limited cool Blue vinyl)

Pet Shop Boys – Actually

Pet Shop Boys – Please

Pet Shop Boys – Introspective

Núrla Graham – Does It Ring A Bell?

Jonathan Wilson – Rare Birds

Betty Wright – I love the way you love me

Tindersticks – Simple Pleasure

The Ting Tings – We Started Nothing

Gene Vincent – Rocks On

Buck Owens – Buck Owens / You’re For Me

Roland Kirk – Third Dimension

Status Quo – Collected (Limited Edition Purple vinyl)

Charlie Mingus – East Coasting

Mel Tormé’s – California Suite

Titus Groan – Titus Groan

New In: Friday 23rd February 2018

Here’s 5 highlights of this week’s NEW IN!


Lo Moon “Lo Moon”
The Wombats “ Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life”
Karen O feat. Michael Kiwanuka “Yo! My Saint” 7″
Julie Fowlis “Alterum”
Bat Fangs “Bat Fangs”


Tons more new and reissues incoming!
Bjork feat. serpentwithfeet “Blissing Me” (Aqua Coloured vinyl)
Joni Mitchell “Blue”, “Hejira”, “The Hissing of Summer”
Madonna “Erotica”, “American Life”
Gorillaz, “Gorillaz”, “Plastic Beach”
Blur “The Magic Whip”
The Temperance “The Temperance”, “White Bear”, “A Deeper Cut”
Jimi Hendrix “Lover Man” 7″
Alela Diane “Cusp”
Jamiroquai “Synkronized”
The James Taylor Quartet, Live at Ronnie Scott’s “Bumpin’ on Frith Street”
Ladybird Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Spacemen 3, “Dream Weapon: An Evening of Contemporary Sitar Music”
Leroy Hutson, “Leroy Hutson”, “II”
Dexter Gordon, “Soy Califa, Live From Magleaas Hojskole 1967”
Caroline Rose “Loner”
Belako, “Render Me Numb, Trivial Violence”
The Lovely Eggs “This Is Eggland”
Future Islands “In the Fall”
Bankbusted Nuclear Detergent Blues “Jazz Poetry Superjam #3”
S. Carey, “Hundred Acres”
Fever Ray, “Plunge”
The Fiery Furnaces, “Gallowsbird’s Bark”
5,6,7,8’s “Teenage Mojo Workout!”, “Bomb The Rocks; Early Days Single”
Band of Holy Joy, “Funambulist We Love You”
Brie & The Extricated “Part 2”
Calexico “Spoke”
CTMF, “In the Devil’s Focus”, “Brand New Cage”
Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglo, “The Swell Season”
Godspeed you Black Emperor, “Slow Riot for New Zero Kanada, “Yanqui U.X.O.”, “Lift Your Skinny Fists”, “Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress”
L7, “Wireless”
Laurel Halo “Dust”, “Chance of Rain”, “Quarantine”
Martha “Courting Strong”, “Blisters in the Pit of My Heart”
Pere Ubu “Song of the Bailing Man”, “The Art of Walking”, “Carnivals of Souls”, “New Picnic Time”, “Lady from Shanghai”
Public Service Broadcasting “The Race for Space / Remixes”, “The War Room EP”, “Inform – Educate – Entertain”, “The Race For Space”
Salad Boys “Metalmania”
Sleaford Mods “Live At SO36”, “Key Markets”
Steve Marriott “The Majic Mijits (Remastered)”
The Lovely Eggs “This is Nowhere”, “Wiggy Giggy”, “If You Were Fruit (Deluxe Version)”, “Wildlife”


Get down and have a dig!

SD

FACEBOOK FEED

21 hours ago

Spinning Discs Sheffield
View on Facebook

1 day ago

Spinning Discs Sheffield
View on Facebook

1 day ago

Spinning Discs Sheffield
View on Facebook

TWITTER FEED

Friends of Spinning Discs