Reviews 2018-02-02T07:44:40+00:00

REVIEWS

BLOG FEED

New In: Friday 27th July 2018

Tons of great new bits in this week, get diggin’! We’ve also got a nice sale on in our second hand section, as well as the extended back section! Come and check it out.


HIGHLIGHTS
Phantastic Ferniture “Phantastic Ferniture”
Billie Joe Armstrong “The Longshot”

U-Ziq “Challenge Me Foolish”
Wye Oak “The Louder I Call, The Faster It Runs”
The Lovely Eggs “This is Eggland”
Kamasi Washington “Heaven & Earth”, “The Epic”


ALSO NEW IN AND REISSUES

The Flaming Lips (Remastered) “Oh My Gawd!!!…The Flaming Lips”, “Telepathic Surgery”, “Hear It Is”
Blodwym Pig “Ahead Rings Out”
Small Faces “Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake”
Father John Misty “God’s Favorite Customer”, “Fear Fun”
Arctic Monkeys “Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino”, “AM”, “Humbug”, “WPSIATWIN”
Jon Hopkins “Singularity”, “Immunity”, “Insides”
Joan As Police Woman “Damned Devotion”
Deaf Wish “Lithium Zion”
A Certain Ratio “Sextet”, “Change the Station”, “Mind Made Up”
ShadowParty “Shadow Party”


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 13th July 2018

Hello fellow lions. It’s been a sad few days, but it’s time to dry those England World Cup tears in finely pressed wax. Behold.


NEW IN

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard “Polygondwanaland”

This was released on a PYOP (Press your own pressings) basis. This is a Fuzz Club copy.

Mattiel “Mattiel”
VOWWS “Under the World”
You Said Strange “Salvation Prayer”
Rayland Baxterd “Wide Awake”
Luluc “Sculptor”

Euphoric folky business on Seattle’s highly esteemed Sub-Pop label! Check it.

The Libertines “The Best Of”
Black Mirror “Hang the DJ”
Dirty Projectors “Lamp Lit Prose”
Bodyhead “The Switch”
Pariah “Here From Where We Are”

If you’ve been wondering what Pariah’s been up to for the last years here is your answer. Quality techno on Fabric’s sub-label from one of the UK’s most talented producers!

The Libertines “The Best Of”
Black Mirror “Hang the DJ”
Dirty Projectors “Lamp Lit Prose”
Bodyhead “The Switch”
Pariah “Here From Where We Are”Erasure “World Be Live”

Erasure “World Be Live”
Mr. Airplane Man “Jacaranda Blue”
The Ophelias “Almost”
The Jayhawks “Back Roads and Abandoned Motels”
Bob Dylan & the Grateful Dead “Bob Dylan & the Grateful Dead”

REISSUES

The Beach Boys “Pet Sounds”
Cream “Disraeli Gears”
Frank Turner “Positive Songs For”
Free “Free”, “Hearbreaker”
INXS “INXS
James “Wah Wah”
Nick Drake “Family Tree”, “Made to Love Magic”
Rihanna “A Girl Like Me”, “Good Girl Gone Bad”, “Music of the Sun”, “Rated R”, “Talk That Talk”, “Unapologetic”
Shania Twain “Up!”
Sonic Youth “A Thousand Leaves”, “Experimental Jet Set”, “NYC Ghosts & Flowers”, “Sonic Nurse”
Weezer “Red Album”


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 29th June 2018

New Releases hitting the racks at Spinning Discs Sheffield on vinyl this Friday 29th June for your pleasure and delight come from

Ryan Adams – Baby I Love You, 7”

David Bowie – BAAL, 10″ and Christiane F, Limited Edition Vinyl

John Coltrane – Both Directions At Once The Lost Album, Deluxe Version

Candy – The Blank Tapes, Ltd. Violet Vinyl

Jim James – Uniform Distortion, Clear Vinyl

Gwenifer Raymond – You Never Were Much Of A Dancer

Let’s Eat Grandma – I’m All Ears, 2Lp Translucent Yellow

Guns ‘N’ Roses – Appetite For Destruction, 2LP Foil Slip Case

Wire – Pink Flag/Chairs Missing/154, Remastered

En Attendent Ana – Lost and Found, Ltd. Sunset Orange Vinyl

Florence + The Machine – High As Hope, Ltd. Coloured Vinyl

Sparks – Best Of & The Rest Of The Island Years 74 – 78, 2LP

Bullet For My Valentine – Gravity, Ltd. Pink/Black Mixed Vinyl

Gorillaz – The Now Now, Black Vinyl

The Interrupters – Fight the Good Fight, Black Vinyl

Lalo Schifrin – Bullitt (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), Coloured Vinyl

 

Plus restocks and the Summer Solstice Sale is going on too (until Sunday)!

New In: Friday 1st June 2018

As we enter festival season a load of cracking new albums are out for your delectation…

HIGHLIGHTS
Father John Misty “God’s Favorite Customer”
Oneohtrix Point Never “Age Of”
Paul Simon “Graceland The Remixes”
Tower of Power “Soul Side of Town”
Moonchild “Voyager”


ALSO NEW IN
Morcheeba “Blaze Away”
Natalie Prass “The Future and The Past”
Lump “Lump”
Jamie Isaac “Idler”
Mazzy Star “Still”
Norma Waterson & ELiza Carthy “Anchor”
De La Soul “And the Anonymous Nobody”
Courtney Barnett “Sometimes I Sit and Think And Sometimes I Just Sit”
Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile “Lotta Sea Lice Marathon”
Justin Timberlake “FutureSex/LoveSounds”
The Flaming Lips “Greatest Hits Vol. 1”
The Notorious B.I.G. “Greatest Hits”
Madonna “The Immaculate Collection”
Emmylou Harris “The Ballad of Sally Rose”
The Neighbourhood “The Neighbourhood”
Neko Case “Hell-On”


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 25th May 2018

Finally… The follow up to Yussef Kamaal’s blinding debut “Black Focus” is here….in the shape of newly formed trio Kamaal Williams, whose album “the Return” is out this week on limited edition white vinyl. If jazz and/or breakbeat is your thing, get to know!


HIGHLIGHTS

Kamaal Williams “The Return”
Halo Maud “Je suis une île”
Wooden Shjips “V”
Björk “Arisen my senses”


ALSO IN THIS WEEK
Wand “Perfume”
GOAT “Let It Burn” 7”
Sleep “The Sciences”
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds “She Taught Me How to Fly”
Snow Patrol “Wildness”
Prince “Nothing Compares 2 U” 7”
Liam Gallagher “I’ve All I Need” 7”
Chvrches “Love Is Dead”
MTV Unplugged Biffy Clyro “Live at the Roundhouse London”
Stone Temple Pilots “Pilots”
Beautiful South “0898”, “Painting It Red”
Corduroy in “Return of the Fabric Tour”
ACR “Up in Downsville”
Bark Psychosis “///Codename: dustsucker”
Tracy Anne & Danny


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 18th May 2018

Long live this fine weather! We’ll be heading over to CW9 on Saturday for the Vinyl Adventures Record Fair in Northwich featuring Tim Burgess of the Charlatans! Hope to see you there, come and say hello.


NEW IN

Bruce Springsteen “The Album Collection Vol. 2 1987-1996”
James “Better than That EP” 10”
Otis Redding “Dock of the Bay Sessions”
Blanket “How to Let Go”
Ray LaMontagne “Part of the Light”
Lake Street Dive “Free Yourself Up”
Pink Floyd “Relics Remastered”
Tom Waits “The Heart of Saturday Night”
The Lovely Eggs “Big Sea” 7”
The Breeders “Mountain Battles”, “Title TK”, “Last Splash”, “Pod”
Amyl and the Sniffers “Big Attraction and Giddy Up”
Ryley Walker “Deafman Glance”
Parquet Courts “Wide Awaaaaake!”
Jonny Greenwood “Music from the film Body Song”
Ash “Islands”
The Magic Numbers “Outsiders”
Dream Wife “Dream Wife”
Floating Features “La Luz”
Beach House “7”
Hookworms “Hookworms”
Tom Waits “Nighthawks at the Diner”
Pul de Jong “You Fucken Sucker”
Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks “Sparkle Hard”
Poliça “Give You the Ghost”
Archie and the Bunkers “Songs from the Lodge”


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 27th April 2018

Wow! Another cracking Record Store Day. Thanks to all who came down, we hope you got what you wanted. Thanks to Party Hardly, Ash Gray and James Ewan for your live sets and the Tramshed for hosting!


HIGHLIGHTS
RAS G & the Afrikan Space Program “Stargate Music”
Bicep “Opal (Four Tet Remix)/ Helix)

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizzard “I’m In Your Mind Fuzz”, “Quarters!”, “Murder of the Universe”, “Flying Micrtonal Banana”, “Sketches of Brunswick East (with Mild High Club)”
Cicada Rhythm “Everywhere I Go”
Jessie Baylin “Strawberry Wind”


NEW IN
Goat Girl “Goat Girl”
Arctic Monkeys “WPSIAMTWIN”, “AM”
Cocteau Twins “Treasure”
Josh T. Pearson “The Straight Hits!”
King Creosote “Astronaut Meets Appleman”
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins “Diamond Mine”
The Orielles “Silver Dollar Moment”
Elastica “Elastica”
Aisha Badru “Pendulum”
John Fogerty “Centrefield”
Blossoms “Blossoms (Deluxe Edition incl. acoustic album vinyl)”
We Are Scientists “Megaplex”
DMA’S “For Now”
Okkervil River “In the Rainbow Rain”
Forth Wanderers


Get down and have a dig!

SD

New In: Friday 20th April 2018

One more sleep! Record Store Day 2018 is nearly upon us…We’ll be open from 9am especially so get down nice and early to reserve your place in the queue and get first dibs on all those exclusive bits! You can see a full list of our RSD18 stock list here

In the meantime…here’s our new in for this week! 


Highlights

Johny Greenwood “Phantom Thread Original Motion Picture Soundtrack”
Alexis Taylor “Beautiful Thing”
David Bowie “Aladdin Sane”
Gomez “Bring It On”
Savoy “See the beauty in your drab hometown”

Also In

Jethro Tull “Heavy Horses”
Poison “Open Up and Say…Ahh!”
June Tabor “An Introduction to June Tabor”
Solan Goose “Erland Cooper”
Steve Ellis “Boom! Boom! Twang!
Julian Cope “Jehovahkill”
The Damned “Evil Spirits”
Bonnie Prince Billy “Wolf of the Cosmos”
Perel “Hermetica”
Mike Donovan “How to Get Your Record Played in Shops”
Pennywise “Never Gonna Die”
CharliXCX “Number 1 Angel”
Sufjan Stevens “Tonya Harding”
Drinks “Hippo Lite”
The Headhunters “Straight From the Gate”
Vertical Horizon “Everything You Want”
Alanis Morissette “Flavors of Entanglement”
Lawless “Original Motion Picture Soundtrack”


Get down and have a dig! 
SD

RSD18 – Releases hitting the Spinning Discs Sheffield racks!

Folks – we’ve had a listen to the sort of releases from the Record Store Day 2018 release list you wanted us to get in.  We’ve collated and debated and come to the conclusion in our RSD18 stock list below!

RSD18 – Stock List

As a reminder – we open at 9am on the 21st.

No reserves, no pre-orders, no bulk buying – only one title per customer, no more than 10 records per customer.

We’re operating a ‘system’ so that the first come is the first served.

The shop will be open as usual so you’ll be able to browse our new, reissue and select secondhand (in the Record Emporium) while you wait for your turn.

Sounds a bit formal we know.

Finally, no hassle – Keep it happy and real.

Thanks

Team Spinning Discs

New In: Friday 6th April 2018

We’ve got to say that the Pop Princess Kylie is back with her new release ‘Golden’ and yet another Pop Diva is running alongside keeping her on her toes in the form of Soul Pop Diva Lisa Stansfield with a collection of new material in ‘Deeper’.  Youngsters Lorde, Hinds and Goat Girl are keeping everyone on the lookout with three fantastic new releases in ‘Melodrama’,  ‘I don’t run’ (and maybe they don’t need to) and ‘Goat Girl’

Plus we’ve got more in from the likes of;

Unknown Mortal Orchestra ‘Sex + Food’

Peter Harris ‘Adverts’

Hop Along ‘Bark Your Head Off, Dog’

Abi Wade ‘Beautifully Astray’

The Wonder Years ‘Sister Cities’

Cosmo Sheldrake ‘The Much Much How How and I’

The Amazing ‘In Transit’

Zeke ‘Hellbender’

and more!

Plus we’ve got a special celebration coming up so keep an eye out for an announcement!

FACEBOOK FEED

2 hours ago

Spinning Discs Sheffield
View on Facebook
View on Facebook

2 days ago

Spinning Discs Sheffield
View on Facebook

TWITTER FEED

Friends of Spinning Discs