Release Date: 17th June 2022

Black Vinyl x2 / Cat no. 19439953321

Over the course of six weeks in the summer of 1969, just one hundred miles south of Woodstock, The Harlem Cultural Festival was filmed in Mount Morris Park (now Marcus Garvey Park). The footage was largely forgotten—until now. Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) shines a light on the importance of history to our spiritual well-being and stands as a testament to the healing power of music during times of unrest, both past and present. The soundtrack includes concert performances by Nina Simone, Sly & the Family Stone, Gladys Knight & the Pips, Mahalia Jackson, B.B. King, The 5th Dimension and more.


1. The Chambers Brothers – “Uptown”

2. B.B. King – “Why I Sing The Blues”

3. The 5th Dimension – “Don’t Cha Hear Me Callin’ To Ya”

4. The 5th Dimension – “Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In (The Flesh Failures)”

5. David Ruffin – “My Girl”

6. The Edwin Hawkins Singers – “Oh Happy Day”

7. The Staple Singers – “It’s Been A Change”

8. The Operation Breadbasket Orchestra & Choir Featuring Mahalia Jackson and Mavis Staples – “Precious Lord Take My Hand”

9. Gladys Knight & The Pips – “I Heard It Through The Grapevine”

10. Mongo Santamaria – “Watermelon Man”

11. Ray Barretto – “Together”

12. Herbie Mann- “Hold On, I’m Comin’”

13. Sly & The Family Stone – “Sing A Simple Song”

14. Sly & The Family Stone – “Everyday People”

15. Abbey Lincoln and Max Roach – “Africa”

16. Nina Simone – “Backlash Blues”

17. Nina Simone – “Are You Ready”