Release Date: 12th November 2021


White Vinyl  / Cat no. TRANS551XC

Deluxe LP / Cat no. TRANS551XD


Track listing:

  1. The Nearer The Fountain, More Pure The Stream Flows​
  2. The Cormorant​
  3. Royal Morning Blue​
  4. Combustion​
  5. Daft Wader​
  6. Darkness To Light​
  7. Esja​
  8. The Tower Of Montevideo​
  9. Giraffe Trumpet Sea​
  10. Polaris​
  11. Particles


The Nearer The Fountain, More Pure The Stream Flows was originally intended as an orchestral piece inspired by the landscapes of Iceland. This last year has seen Albarn return to the music in lockdown and develop the work to 11 tracks which further explore themes of fragility, loss, emergence and rebirth. The result is a panoramic collection of songs with Albarn as storyteller. The album title is taken from a John Clare poem Love and Memory.