REVIEWS

Rag ‘n’ Bone Man – Human

Loyle Carner – Yesterday’s Gone

Solange – A Seat At the Table

Julia Jacklin – Don’t Let The Kids Win

Betty Harris – The Lost Queen of New Orleans Soul

The Horrors – Strange House

808 State – 90

East India Youth – Culture of Youth

James Blake – The Colour in Anything

Blossoms – Blossoms

The Black Keys – thickfreakness

Courteeners – Mapping the Rendezvous

Band of Skulls – By Default

Green Day – Revolution Radio

Motörhead – Ace of Spades

The Milk Carton Kids – Monterey

Neil Young – Harvest

U2 – Under A Blood Red Sky

Daniel Romano – If You’ve Only One Time Askin’

Warpaint – Heads Up

Orbital – ‘Green’

Suzanne Vega – Solitude Standing

Moby – Play

Massive Attack – Mezzanine

Fargo Year Two – Soundtrack

Aretha Franklin – The Gospel Soul of…

Burial – Untrue

Kula Shaker – K 2.0

Kings of Leon – Walls

Four Tet – There is Love in you

Jimi Hendrix – Electric Ladyland

Zero 7 – Simple Things

Blur – The Magic Whip

Soul II Soul – Club Classics Vol. One

Sleaford Mods – Divide and Exit

Richard and Linda Thompson – I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight

BLOG FEED

New In – 20th May 2017

New week, new wax!

Erasure’s 17th studio effort comes in the form of “World Be Gone”. Fuzz punk band Wavves are back with a cracking LP, “You’re Welcome”. You’re gonna thank us for that one later!

Warp Records’ indie dance troup !!! aka Chk Chk Chk present “Shake the Shudder”, while Jane Weaver – presents her 3rd LP, “Modern Kosmology”.

Big week for rock/metal, with the return of Biters with “The Future Ain’t What it Used to Be” and Papa Roach first LP in 2 years, “Crooked Teeth”

Radiophonic Workshop are back after 32 YEARS with “Burial In Several Earths” Box-set!

And some recent albums that are back in stock, (Sandy) Alex. G, Frank Ocean’s guitarist’s “Rocket” is making noise all over, as is the She-Devils EP. Rick Ro$$’ “Rather You Than Me” which came out this year is back in, as are Sneaks “It’s a Myth” and Mr. Mitch’s “Devout”.

Awesome Tapes From Africa’s latest reissue comes in the form of Umoja’s “707”, a funky drum machine work out.

Buffalo Tom’s 3rd LP “Let Me Come Over” from 1992 is back in stock.

Loads of TV and film soundtracks in this week, it’s the 25th anniversary of the “Singles” OST, Black Mirror’s soundtrack “Men Against Fire” is out on vinyl finally, and Resistance Radio, from The Man in the High Castle. Finally there’s two Twin Peaks records, “Fire Walk With Me” and “Music from Twin Peaks”.

Tons of reissues too,
T-Rex “In America” Live
Scouting For Girls’ debut
Sia – “1000 Forms of Fear”
Iron Maiden’s 4th LP – Virtual XI
Iron Maiden’s 3rd LP – The X Factor
Iron Maiden – Box set with 2 albums, Fear of the Dark and No Prayer for the Dying, and collectors box that fits all 13 albums.
Coldcut x On-U Sound – “Outside the Echo Chamber” Box Set

Come down and have a dig, coffee and a chat with our friendly staff!
SD

New In – 12th May 2017

Amidst Corbyn’s revolution comes another “Kind of Revolution”…It’s Paul Weller’s 25th studio album! With stellar reviews across the board his 13th solo studio is cementing the Modfather as one of our greatest talents, with his age capturing the “spirit of the age”, it’s a must hear for all fans!

Sean Rowe is back with his 5th album “New Lore” of earthy alt-folk. Also in that vein is the soundtrack to Jack White’s new documentary with T-Bone Burnett “American Epic”, which explores the history of the record industry in 1920s America.

Any Rolling Stones fans will wanna check out “Charlie Watts meets The Danish Radio Big Band”, which features magnificent Stones covers of “Paint it Black” among others, as well as some Jazz classics like “Molasses”.

There’s also sophomore albums from Spencer Radcliffe & Everyone Else with “Enjoy the Great Outdoors” and Girlpool, who are back with added drums on “Powerplant”.

Leif Vollebekk’s “Inland” is finally getting a proper release after being originally self-released in 2008, and Irish house producer New Jackson’s debut “From Night to Night” is out this week.

Reissues this week come in the form of Manic Street Preacher’s 2007 LP “Send Away the Tigers” -which is out on a 10 year anniversary Collector’s Edition with a second disc of demos – and baroque-indie Panic at the Disco’s 2005 debut “A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out”.

Last but not least, new in this week are:
World Spirituality Classics 1: The Ecstatic Music of Alice Coltrane Turiyasangitananda
Sun Ra “Singles Vol 2 of 2” (3xLP set)
Emmylou Harris And the Nash Ramblers “At the Ryman” 1992 live album

Get down and have a dig and a chat with our friendly staff!

New In – 5th May 2017

Mayday Mayday! Fresh Wax for Sale!

The return of MAC DEMARCO at last! With his 3rd record “This Old Dog”, which is receiving stellar reviews left right and centre…

“For Crying Out Loud”, Kasabian are back. Ahead of their Reading and Leeds headline slots the Leicester lads have gone back to their rock’n’roll roots and hit the nail on the head with a proper cracker of an album.

Pop’s evergreen enigma, Blondie, conjures the euphoria of old in her new album “Pollinator”, out on 12” and in a special 7” boxset.

Indie rockers At the Drive-In are back after 17 years with their 4th LP Inter Alia, sure to set many of your nostalgic hearts alight.

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds have compiled a classy collection of their best tracks entitled “Lovely Creatures”

There’s debuts out this week in the form of Clean Cut Kid’s “Felt” and Jake Isaac “Our Lives” and 3rd LPs from Bill Mackay and Joan Shelley, and a load of new albums from some of our favourite artists…

Asgeir “Afterglow”
Techno-punks Gudrun von Laxenburg “Panic!”
Bonnie Prince Billy “Best Troubador”
A Live album from Fink “Sunday Night Blues Club Vol. 1”
The Afghan Whigs “In Spades”
A LP of orchestral arrangements of Carl Craig classics “Versus”
Brandi Carlile “Cover Stories” An album of Carlile covers by various artists including Pearl Jam, Adele, Dolly Parton, My Morning Jacket, Kris Kristofferson and more!

Represses and Reissues:

Future Islands The Far Field
The Moonlandingz Interplanetary Class Classics
Swans The Great Annihilator
Leftfield Leftism
John Mayer Room for Squares, Battle Studies + Heavier Things
All 5 Arctic Monkeys Albums
Radiohead Pablo Honey, Amnesiac + Hail to the Thief
Jamie XX In Colour + Gil Scott Heron I’m New Here Remixes
Thundercat The Golden Age of Apocalypse
Art Blakey Jazz Messengers!!!!!
Chet Baker & Bud Shank Theme Music from “The James Dean Story”

Come down and have a dig and a chat to our lovely staff!
Still plenty of RSD bits leftover too…

New in – 27th April 2017

Thanks to everyone who came down for Record Store Day 2017, what a day! Big thanks also goes to all the bands who performed for us, and to Wah-Wahs for hosting! Roll on next year… We’ve got quite a few bits left including one Bowie “Cracked Actor” Live LP… List below!

If you enjoyed our RSD you’ll want to stick Thursday 15th June in your diaries, when we’ll be celebrating BBC Music Day with some more live music!

On to the new releases for this week…first and foremost… GORILLAZ ARE BACK! Once again with an LP brimming with talent, from Peven Everett to Benjamin Clementine, and even the most unlikely collaboration perhaps ever…Damon Albarn and Noel Gallagher! Who’d have thought it…

Lots of new music too, debuts from Icelandic electro-poppers Vök, youthful indie band Blaenavon, south-london trio Little Cub and indie supergroup BNQT, which features members of Franz Ferdinand, Midlake, Travis, Grandaddy and Band of Horses!

Los Angeles Police Department are back with their sophomore LP after a string of singles in 2016, Feist and Sonic Youth’s Thurston Moore release their 5th LPs this week, and there’s a bunch of legends back on the scene too, from Willie Nelson to Mew, as well as QOTSA’s Mark Lanegan Band.

Let’s not forget Depeche Mode’s collection of remixes from their latest LP, Spirit, featuring Pearson Sound of Hessle Audio and Simian Mobile Disco!

Two hits compilations come in the form of a Basement Jaxx singles LP, and The Charlatans Melting Pot.

Reissues this week:

Jamie XX “In Colour”

Spoon “Hot Thoughts”

All Them Witches “Sleeping through the War”

Cat Power “Cat Power”

TY Segall “TY Segall”

The James Taylor Quartet “The Money Spyder” OST

Steve Mason “Meet the Humans”

Eccentric Research Council “Johnny Rocket, Narcissist and Music Machine… I’m Your Biggest Fan”

Both Last Shadow Puppets LPs

Warpaint “Heads Up”

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard “Flying Microtonal Banana”

Alt J “This is All Yours”

REM “Green”

Our remaining RSD stock is listed here, please see the comments for updates on what has sold out.

Hope to see you soon!

Spinning Discs Sheffield

New in – 20th April 2017

Only 2 more sleeps ’til Record Store day!

But before you get your paws on our super rare releases – which you can see a full list of here – check out our new wax for this week…

To mark what would have been his 70th birthday, David Bowie’s final studio recordings are out on a 4 track EP, “No Plan” which includes “Lazarus” from the Black Star album.

Ray Davies’s first solo album in 10 years, “Americana”, is inspired by his tours of the US with the Kinks, a fine LP featuring the Jayhawks as his backing bank. Scottish rockers Texas are also back with their 9th album “Jump On Board”!

Electronic pop-pioneer Joe Goddard – of Hot Chip and 2 Bears – has gone solo with his new double LP “Electric Lines”, also out in limited edition which features an extra 3 track 12”.

Austin TX psych rockers Black Angels have extended their tribute to the Velvet Underground by naming their 5th album “Death Song”, a double LP which includes a poster! Also out with her 5th album  “Life. Love. Flesh. Blood” is Irish singer song-writer Imelda May, which features Jeff Beck and Jools Holland.

Noir-pop debuts this week come in the form of Alex Turner’s protegée Alexandra Savior – whose album “Belladonna of Sadness” has been produced by Turner and longtime Arctic Monkeys producer James Ford – and Overcoats, a female duo from NYC.

Speaking of female duos, there’s also the Sundowners sophomore album, “Cut the Master”, a fascinating multi directional album of sonic art in collaboration with alchemist Andy Votel.

And last but not least “Before the Flood” Music From the Motion Picture by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, Mogwai and many more!

Record Store Day 2017 – Stock List – Revision 2

Here’s our list of the Record Store Day 2017 stock that we’ll have in the shop on the 22nd April.

Click on the following link to view the list – Spinning Discs Sheffield – RSD 2017 List – Version 2.

We want to make our second Record Store Day another great experience for our Customers. There’ll be coffee while you wait and we’re putting on some fantastic live music next door at Wah Wah’s from 12pm for you to enjoy.

On Record Store Day we will have a number of ‘rules’ to comply with the RSD Code of Conduct and to keep everyone happy.  Here they are;

Releases will be strictly limited to one copy of each release per customer with no more than 8 items purchased at one time.  You are free to queue up again if there are other items you would like.  This is predominantly to deter people who are only buying to sell on.  People are here to buy and enjoy records for themselves and if we suspect individuals to be buying for the purpose to sell on, we have to right to refuse sales.

To keep everyone safe, should there be a queue during the morning before we open, 10 people will be allowed in the shop at any one time and will continue on a one-in-one-out policy.  Each person will be given a ticket which will be numbered sequentially.  When your number is called please come up to see us for your Record Store Day purchases.  While you are waiting you are free to browse the rest of the new vinyl in the front of the shop or our select second hand in the Record Emporium in the rear.

Leading up to our opening time of 9am the first 10 people in the queue will be given a list of RSD releases that we have in-store.  These people can mark off the items that they wish to buy to speed up the sale so others can get in the shop sooner.

The first 20 people in the queue will receive a free Record Store Day 2017 Fred Perry design tote bag.

The staff at Spinning Discs Sheffield have worked incredibly hard in making this, the 10th annual and our second Record Store Day experience enjoyable for everyone.  Should there be items that you have missed out on due to limited numbers, we understand there will be some disappointment but we expect no hostility in any way for such misfortune.

Lastly, we thank you for coming to our shop to celebrate Record Store Day and we hope you enjoy your purchases and the rest of the day if you choose to come and celebrate with us and the musicians in the afternoon and later in the evening at Wah Wah’s and The Tramshed.

Thanks for your continued support!

Spinning Discs Sheffield

New in – 7th April 2017

As Record Store Day approaches we’ve got a bunch of fine new records for your delectation…

After the furore created by the “bedding Taylor Swift” line that opened his Saturday Night Live performance, Father John Misty’s 3rd LP “Pure Comedy” is here, in standard and deluxe aluminum & copper edition, both with a free bonus 7”!

Up next there’s debuts from British bands The Big Moon and Blaenavon, and sophomore albums from Yorkston/Thorne/Khan and Karen Elson, Jack White’s former spouse.

Also out this week is US Synth-poppers Future Islands’ 4th album, following theirs singles compilation and a Gonjasufi remix album which features guest star Daddy G from Massive Attack.

Singles this week come in the form of Rag’n’Bone “Man Wolves” and Young Fathers’ 7” “Only God Knows” which took the esteemed place of Born Slippy as the end credits song in the recent Trainspotting sequel T2.

Don’t miss the reissues of The Clash “Combat Rock”, Outkast’s 2003 double album “Speakerboxxx/The Love Below” and free-jazz gem, Don Cherry’s “Music, Wisdom, Love 1969”.

Come down and have a browse, loads of fresh funk and soul 7”s in our Second Hand Record Emporium too!

New in – 30th March 2017

Oh the times they are a-changin’…

We may be leaving the EU for good this week and a hard rain may certainly fall, but there’s also the timely arrival of Bob Dylan’s first ever triple LP, a collection of covers by the great American songwriters. Also stocked is the numbered limited edition in a vintage style case. Triplicate yourself!

There’s a bunch of new albums by some of our favourite artists too –

Goldfrapp’s 7th album ‘Silver Eye’ is here, featuring the euphoric lead single “Anymore”, listen below.

Rapper Ice T’s heavy metal band Bodycount are releasing their 6th studio effort Bloodlust, house producer Jacques Greene’s debut is out now and electro pop-goth Lydia Ainsworth’s follow up to her 2014 debut is finally here.

Special mention goes to the Lloyd McNeill Quartet’s Washington Suite which is finally being reiussed by Souljazz records, a very rare deep jazz album which fetches £300+ online!

Speaking of represses, we’ve got the Animal Collective debut studio and live albums ‘Here Comes the Indian’ and ‘Hollindagain’ as well as their solo member Panda Bear’s ‘Young Prayer’.

Not to mention 3 Kasabian albums, Bowie’s ‘Blackstar’, the ‘Trolls’ OST and A Tribe Called Quest’s 1990 debut ‘People’s Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm’.

Don’t think twice!

New in – 24th March 2017

As Easter approaches another Jesus is resurrecting… Jesus & the Mary Chain have released their first album since 1998! The Scottish post-punks are back with a banger of an album, ready to shock once again. Have a listen below.

Grab your copy of Total Madness, all the greatest hits & more of the biggest Ska band ever, on limited edition red vinyl!

Speaking of the “Soul of Jamaica”, we highly recommend checking out the new Inna De Yard album if reggae is your thing. Craig Charles also speaks very highly of them…”It’s like if Buena Vista Social Club was from Jamaica”

There’s also the new album from the Fat White Family and Eccentric Research Council collaborration Moonlandingz, produced by John Lennon’s son and featuring backing vocals from Yoko Ono!

And finally on our top shelf this week, is the Hold Steady frontman Craig Finn’s 3rd solo effort, “We All Want the Same Things”, an “accomplished work of a wise songwriter”, says Pitchfork (7.8/10)

Reissues are no short supply this week, with 3 albums from the Smiths and the Suicidal Tendencies each, as well as the Wheatus, MC5 and Taj Mahal debuts!

There’s also Matthew Sweet and the Dropkick Murphy’s 3rd LPs, Joy Division’s “Unknown Pleasures” for just £15, New Order’s “Republic”, Motorhead’s “Death and Glory”, The White Buffalo “Hogtied Revisited” and Richard and Linda Thompson “I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight” from ’74.

Ryan Adams new album has been selling so well we decided to order in another copy of his Taylor Swift covers album “1989”! Come snap it up.

Special mention goes to the other new albums out this week from Bruut!, James Blunt, Boss Hog and Miraculous Mule.

Plenty to get your hands full with! Come have a browse and a chinwag with our staff, open Thursday-Sunday! For our opening times see our homepage.

Record Store Day 2017 – List of Releases

So here it is – The Record Store Day 2017 list of releases.

Click here to open the RSD 2017 – List

If there’s something you’re interested in then drop us a line to contact@spinningdiscssheffield.co.uk to let us know.

Just a reminder of the Record Store Day ‘rules’ (that apply to all the shops taking part); we can’t hold or reserve anything for anyone on the day; records are sold on a first come first served basis and only one copy per Customer.

FACEBOOK FEED

BBC Music Day - Thursday 15th June 2017

June 15, 2017, 4:00pm - June 15, 2017, 9:00pm

We're celebrating BBC Music Day this year on Thursday 15th June 2017 with some great (free) live music The line up so far In the 'Front Room' at Spinning Discs Sheffield 4pm - Artist from Black Beacon Sound 5pm - Artist from Black Beacon Sound 6pm - Antique Doll In our take over of Wah Wah's 5.30pm - Delirium 6.30pm - Them Sardines 7.30pm - TBC Space will be limited so get down early to avoid disappointment. If the gigs are full then they're full!

View on Facebook
View on Facebook

TWITTER FEED

Friends of Spinning Discs